2016 MGS Service Awards

The Eric Jonasson Award of Merit is the major award given by MGS. It was created in 1999 to honour Eric Jonasson for his contributions to MGS. He was one of the founding members of the Society in 1976. He was the first President and served until 1980. Eric wrote his first genealogical guide “Tracing Your Icelandic Family Tree” in the 1970’s, followed by “The Canadian Genealogical Handbook” in 1976. In 1983, he published “Untangling Your Family Tree”. Eric was involved in many community and cultural organizations in Manitoba.

The 2016 winner is Shirle McGimpsey from the Dauphin Branch. The photo shows Dauphin Branch President, Don White, making the presentation.

Shirle McGimpsey

The Florence Cox Volunteer Service Award was created in 1999, Flo passed away in 2000. Flo was a member of MGS from 1979. She was a very active member in the Library and helped out in the indexing of many Manitoba Cemeteries. Flo donated a new photocopier in her will to the Society, for which we were all very grateful. The Florence Cox Awards are presented in grateful acknowledgement of exceptional service to MGS. More than one award can be made each year.

The 2016 winners are Helen Ellingson from the Swan Valley Branch, Jan Gowan from the Winnipeg/South-east Branch, and Sandra Havig from the Winnipeg/South-east Branch. Photos show MGS President, Jim Oke, presenting certificates to Jan Gowan and Sandra Havig.

Jan Gowan

Sandra Havig

Congratulations to all the recipients.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *