Eric Jonasson Award of Merit

Ginny Braid (right) receiving the 2017 Eric Jonasson Award of Merit from Jim Oke

Established in 1987 as a principal Award of Merit, the name was changed in 1999 to the Eric Jonasson Award of Merit to honour Eric for his contributions to MGS. As a founding member of the Society in 1976, he was member No. 1. He served as the first President until 1980.

He wrote his first genealogical guide “Tracing Your Icelandic Family Tree” in the 70’s, followed by “The Canadian Genealogical Handbook” in 1976. In 1983 he published “Untangling Your Family Tree”. Eric was involved in many community and cultural organizations in Manitoba. His wife, Liz, served as Secretary of MGS for a number of years after his death in 1998.

Award Recipients

2020  Patricia Sundmark
Marilyn Strang (Dauphin Branch)
2018  Enid Dorward
2017  Virginia Braid
2016  Shirle McGimpsey (Dauphin Branch)
2015  Orma Sozansky
2014  Pat Allan
2013  Rick McLellan
2012  Jayne Paradis
2011  Eleanor Burch (South West Branch)
2010  No award given.
2009  Gordon McBean
2008  Bill Burland
2007  Bob Stokes
2006  Mary Bole
2005  Eric Neufeld (Swan Valley Branch)
2004  Joan Whiston
2003  Daryl Dumanski
2002  Walt McCaw
2001  Margaret Goodman
2000  Betty Atkinson
1999  Jim Rutherford

Award of Merit

Prior to 1999, the Eric Jonasson Award was called the Award of Merit. It was given to members who demonstrated a high level of commitment towards the betterment of the Manitoba Genealogical Society. Like the Eric Jonasson Award of Merit after it, the Award of Merit was bestowed upon a member whose efforts stood out among a group of incredible volunteers.
1998  Connie McLeod
1997  Joyce Elias
1996  Donna Fox
1995  Eleanor Corbett
1994  Lorne Harris
1993  Ernest McCallum
1992  Jim Wall
1991  Hazel Runchey
1990  Gordon Breckman
1989  Elizabeth Briggs
1988  Edith Bjornson
1987  Ruth Breckman   Gerald Brown   Flo Cox   Reta McManus   Barbara Page
Louisa Shermerhorn   Mavis Smith   Kathy Stokes   Ruth Tester   Jean Tucker