Our Awards

MGS has three Awards to pay tribute to volunteers who have distinguished themselves through their service to the Society. These awards reflect our organization’s commitment to recognizing the dedication of our volunteers.

List of Awards

Two awards have been given annually for several years. The third award listed has been added in memory of Past President, Joan Whiston.

  • Eric Jonasson Award of Merit

    This award is presented annually to one member of MGS who has made an outstanding volunteer contribution to the goals of the Society through volunteer activity.  A book will be purchased, inscribed with the name of the Award recipient and placed in the MGS library collection.

  • Florence Cox Volunteer Service Award

    This award is presented to a member of MGS, who in the opinion of the Society Executive, has (a) rendered exemplary service to MGS over a long period of time or (b) has rendered exceptional service to MGS over a shorter period of time. A book will be purchased, inscribed with the name(s) of the Award recipient(s) and placed in the MGS library collection.

  • Joan Whiston Volunteer Award

    This award was first  presented in 2017 for outstanding volunteer service over time, with preference given to members not serving on the MGS Executive or Council. For example, volunteers from local branches, volunteers working in the MGS Resource Centre, volunteers involved in indexing and transcribing cemetery records, etc.  Members who have previously won the Florence Cox Award are not eligible to receive this award.

Note: No MGS member can receive the same Award more than once. A list of previous recipients of the awards can be found in the next sub-menus .

Nomination Process

Any living individual, associate or life member in good standing may be nominated.
Nominations should be emailed to the Awards Chair, Jim Rutherford, at rutherfo@mymts.net with a detailed description of why you feel the individual you nominated is a worthy recipient. Because a member can receive each award only once, nominators should check the list of previous recipients on the following sub-menus. More detailed descriptions of each Award are also available there.

Awards Presentation

Awards are normally presented at the Society’s Annual General Meeting. Efforts will be made to bestow awards in person, but if for some reason a recipient is  unable to attend it will be presented a later time by the closest Branch to the recipient.