Volunteer/Member Service Awards

It is an honour for MGS to pay tribute to volunteers who have distinguished themselves through their service to the Society. These awards reflect our organization’s commitment to recognizing the dedication of our volunteers.

List of Awards

Two awards have been given annually for several years. The third award listed has been added this year in memory of Past President, Joan Whiston.

  • Eric Jonasson Award of Merit
    This award is presented annually to one member of MGS who has made an outstanding volunteer contribution to the goals of the Society through volunteer activity.  A book will be purchased, inscribed with the name of the Award recipient and placed in the MGS library collection.
  • Florence Cox Volunteer Service Award
    This award is presented to a member of MGS, who in the opinion of the Society Executive, has (a) rendered exemplary service to MGS over a long period of time or (b) has rendered exceptional service to MGS over a shorter period of time. A book will be purchased, inscribed with the name(s) of the Award recipient(s) and placed in the MGS library collection.

Note: No member of MGS can receive both the Jonasson and Cox Awards in the same year.

  • Joan Whiston Volunteer Award

    This award will first be presented in 2017 for outstanding volunteer service over time, with preference given to members not serving on the MGS Executive or Council. For example, volunteers from local branches, volunteers working in the MGS Resource Centre, volunteers involved in indexing and transcribing cemetery records, etc.  Members who have previously won the Florence Cox Award are not eligible to receive this award.

A list of winners of the above awards can be found in the menu below this page.

Who Can Be Nominated?

Any living individual, associate or life member in good standing may be nominated. Click here  for a copy of the Nomination Form -Awards.
Previous recipients are not eligible to receive the same award a second time. The deadline for nominations is May 20. Please send your nomination(s) to Awards Chair, Jim Rutherford, by email or by mail to Box 185, Winnipeg Beach, MB R0C 3G0.

Awards Presentation

Awards will normally be presented at the Society’s Annual General Meeting. Efforts will be made to bestow awards in person, but if for some reason a recipient is  unable to attend it will be presented a later time by the closest Branch to the recipient.